The Mirror of Human Life: Reflections on François Couperin’s Pieces de Clavecin


Author/editor/arranger: Clark, Connon

Publisher: Keyword Press

Format: Book

Product code: CLARK001


This is an updated third edition of an important and entertaining reference source for Couperin’s music. The authors Jane Clark and Derek Connon analyse the movements from all 27 Ordres, explaining the puzzling titles of Couperin’s harpsichord pieces with reference to his world and social circle. This latest edition includes information on Couperin’s attitude to Louis XIV’s court as it had become under the influence of the pious Mme de Maintenon, and his links with the exiled Stuart court at Saint-Germain-en-Laye.

3rd Revised edition edition (10 Feb. 2020).

230 pages, 11 monochrome illustrations, softback.

The product images shown are for illustrative purposes only and may not be an exact representation of the product, e.g. an image of the full score may illustrate an instrumental part.